Find An Inductee:
Share |
Photo Not Available
The Mohawk Valley Stars
Inducted in 2011

The Mohawk Valley Stars


The Mohawk Valley Stars won the first-ever Atlantic Coast Hockey League Championship with a 28-18-1 record.  It was the first professional hockey title in the Mohawk Valley since 1970. 

Coached by 1990 GUSHOF Inductee William “Bill” Horton, who was named the ACHL Coach of the Year, the Stars were the recipients of the Inaugural Bob Paine Trophy.  The team defeated the Salem Raiders, coached by 2010 GUSHOF Inductee Pat Kelly, in the Championship series. 

The Stars were led by Richard Suwek’s 54 points and Ed Smith’s 24 goals.  Bill Provencher and Randy Ireland each had 14 wins in goal for the Stars.

The 1981-1982 ACHL Champion Mohawk Valley Stars

Richard Suwek

Ed Smith

Denis Martin

Jeff Pyle

Dave Tracy

Brian Gustafson

Ernest Boutin

Dave Avery

Marc Marchand

Dick Popiel

Ed Kurpieski

John Sheridan

Ray Kurpis

Steve MacDougall

Ed Walker

Ron Scales

Cam McGregor

Brent Denat

Dave McDonald

Randy Ireland

Bill Provencher

Ken Grabeldinger

Bill Horton

Tom Hedican

Mark Kallos

Tom Lawler

Dan St. Jean

Keith Reed

Ron Fogal